You are not logged in   Log-in (members only)
 Home |  About Amateur Radio |  Calendar |  Rally |  Other Menus |  Contact Us |



Norm Vincent Memorial Trophy


Norman G3NVO received his licence in 1959, whilst in the 6th form at school. His interest in radio and electronics became his profession and although he became a highly qualified and professional electronics engineer he never lost his interest in the Amateur Radio. When he was living in the USA he obtained a Licence to operate over there.  

Norman was a very capable CW operator but was just as happy operating phone and in times gone by built his own equipment. He was especially interested in difficult aspects of the hobby, particularly VHF, where he chased DX on the 2m and 70cm bands and managed to make contacts time and again into North Africa and east out across Europe. He also enjoyed working DX on the HF bands and really enjoyed playing around with antennas. 

In the late 1980s when we were given access to SIX metres, this became Norm's passion. He managed to make contact with over 197 countries worldwide, as far away as the Antarctic and Australia and, at the time of his death, was listed in 25th place in the world and 4th in the UK. Norm was one of NADARS' mainstays, having been, at times, a committee member, secretary and Chairman for long periods. He was a participant in radio contests both as an individual and as part of a team in club events. He was one of the stalwarts during the annual outings to the Isle of Wight for the IOTA Contest. He was also an instructor on NADARS Foundation and Intermediate Licence courses. He was always willing to demonstrate his station to newcomers and assist fellow amateurs with problems. 

This trophy has been donated to the club in memory of G3NVO, a nice guy, an active and leading member of the Ham community and although his key is silent, this trophy, to be awarded to club members on a rotating one year basis to whoever the Club Committee decides at the time to be worthy of it, will keep his memory alive......

Andy, G3SVD


Past Winners:
2006 - Richard, G3ZGC
2007 - Bernie, M0NKS
2008 - Ray, G4FON
2009 - Phill, G6EES
2010 - Rob, G4LMW
2011 - Steve, M0SEL
2012 - Colin, M0DDT
2013 - Phill, G6EES
2014 - Rob, G4LMW
2015 - Michael, G0POT
2016 - Bill, M0TDW
2017 - Ian, G3RVM
2018 - Ray, G3TBL
2019 - Jeremy, G4DOQ
2020 - not awarded (due to COVID break in activities)
2021 - Lloyd, M5LDF
2022 - George, 2E0FEC
2023 - John "JC", 2E0JJC  

Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the NADARS User Agreement.